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Congenital Syphilis Cases Continue to Rise 

Congenital syphilis increased 44 percent 
nationwide, with 30 percent of those cases 
being California residents. Prenatal care is 
crucial at every pregnancy. Without early 
and  regular prenatal care, a pregnant 
women may not know that their baby is at 
risk for congenital syphilis. 

In California, it is required by law for    
pregnant women to get tested for syphilis 
at their first prenatal visit. Syphilis testing 
should be repeated during the third  
trimester (28-32 weeks gestational age) 

and at delivery in women who are at high 
risk or live in areas with high rates of  
syphilis.  

Congenital syphilis can cause severe illness 
in babies including premature birth, low 
birth weight, birth defects, blindness, and 
hearing loss. It may also lead to stillbirth 
and infant death.   

For information on STD Clinical Guidelines 
click on  STD Treatment Recommendations 
in Pregnancy 2017 offered through the 
California Department of Public Health.  
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Influenza seasons are unpredictable and can 
begin as early as October and last until 
March. It is recommended for individuals six 
months of age and older to get a flu shot as 
soon as the vaccine is available. People at 
high risk of developing flu-related         
complications include: children younger 
than 5, adults 65 years and older, pregnant 
women and residents of nursing homes or 
long-term care facilities.  

The best way to prevent the flu is to get vac-
cinated each year. It takes approximately 
two weeks after vaccination for antibodies 
to develop in the body to protect against 
the flu virus, so it is important to get vac-
cinated early in the fall, before flu season 
begins.  

Below is a list of free flu clinic locations 
hosted by San Bernardino County Prepared-
ness & Response Program.  State—Purchased Flu Vaccine 

is available at NO COST for 

medical providers who meet 

the following guidelines:  

 Non profit or local govern-

ment agency.

 Serve uninsured or

underinsured individuals.

 Follow proper vaccine
storage and handling
requirements.

If your facility meets the guide-
lines you may be eligible to  
receive State - Purchased flu  
vaccine for the 2018-2019 flu 
season! 

For more information contact a 
Health Education Specialist at 
(800) 722-4794 . 

Find us on Social Media: 

Name and Location Date and Time 

The Ontario Center School 

835 North Center Avenue, Ontario, CA 91730 

Thursday, November 1, 2018 

Clinic hours: 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm 

29 Palms Senior Center 

6539 Adobe Road, Twenty-nine Palms, CA 92277 

Saturday, November 10, 2018 

Clinic hours: 10:00 am – 1:00 pm 

Hook Community Center 

14973 Joshua Street, Victorville, CA 92394 

Saturday, November 17, 2018 

Clinic hours: 1:00 pm – 3:00 pm 

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/CDPH%20Document%20Library/CaliforniaSTD-Sxand-Tx-inPregnancy2017.pdf
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CID/DCDC/CDPH%20Document%20Library/CaliforniaSTD-Sxand-Tx-inPregnancy2017.pdf
https://www.facebook.com/SBCPublicHealth/
https://www.instagram.com/sbcountydph/?hl=en
https://twitter.com/SBCountyPH?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor


October 24 
World Polio Day 

November  8 
Inland Empire Immunization  
Coalition General Meeting:    
San Bernardino  

December 1 
World AIDS Day 

West Nile Virus 
West Nile virus (WNV) is a mosquito-borne 
disease first detected in the United States in 
1999. San Bernardino County Department of 
Public Health has confirmed its first    
locally-acquired human case of WNV illness 
in the High Desert since 2013.  

People 60 years of age and older and 
individuals with diabetes or hypertension 
have a higher chance of getting sick, and are 
more likely to develop complications due to 
WNV. 

California Department of Public Health 
(CDPH) recommends individuals protect 
themselves against mosquito bites and WNV 
by practicing the "Three Ds": 

 DEET – Apply insect repellent containing
DEET, picaridin, oil of lemon eucalyptus
or IR3535 according to label
instructions. Do not use on children
under two months of age.

 DAWN AND DUSK – When outdoors,
wear proper clothing and repellent to

reduce the risk of getting bit. Make sure 
all doors and windows have tight-fitting 
screens to keep mosquitoes out. Repair 
or replace screens that have tears or 
holes. 

 DRAIN – Eliminate all sources of
standing water on your property where
mosquitoes lay eggs. Empty flower pots,
old car tires, buckets, and other   
containers. Report green or neglected
pools by contacting your local mosquito
and vector control agency at
1-800-442-2283.

Immunization Skills Institute  

is a free innovative course that 

provides training to medical as-

sistants on current, effective and 

caring immunization techniques. 

For registration information  

contact a Health Education     

Specialist at: (800) 722-4794. 

Click on the following link to access the Confidential Morbidity Reports (CMRs). Fax completed CMRs 

to: (909) 387-6377. For HIV CMRs call 1.800.722.4794 before faxing.  

To report suspect or confirmed cases of TB, complete a TB case/suspect form, and fax the form to the  

Tuberculosis Control Program at (909) 387-6377. After faxing, follow-up with a phone call to one of the 

TB nurses at:  1-800-722-4794. 

Communicable Disease Section  

351 N. Mountain View Ave. #104  San Bernardino, CA 92415 

Phone: 1(800) 722-4794  Fax: (909) 387-6377  http://wp.sbcounty.gov/dph/programs/cds/   

Pertussis 
Pertussis, (also known as whooping cough) 
is a highly contagious respiratory disease 
that can affect individuals of all ages, but 
can be very serious for infants less than a 
year old.  

According to previous trends, pertussis 
outbreaks tend to occur every three to five 
years and one is expected by the end of 
2018 or in 2019. As of October 23, 2018, 
San Bernardino County has reported 24  
cases of pertussis including one death of an 
infant less than six months of age.  

Infants too young for vaccination are at 
greatest risk for life-threatening cases of 
pertussis. Therefore, pregnant women are 
encouraged to receive Tdap at the earliest 
opportunity between 27 and 36 weeks  
gestation of every pregnancy. Pertussis  
antibodies transferred from vaccinated 

mothers to their infants will provide  
protection until the DTaP vaccine series can 
be started, as early as 6 weeks of age. Even 
one dose of DTaP may offer some  
protection against pertussis and should not 
be delayed. 

To avoid the spread of pertussis, California 
Department of Public Health (CDPH)  
recommends the following: 

 Vaccinate pregnant women at every
pregnancy between 27-36 weeks.

 Vaccinate infants as soon as possible.
 Vaccinate all 7th grade students.
 Vaccinate adults who may have contact

with infants and/or healthcare workers
who may have contact with infants.

For more information contact the  
Communicable Disease Section at  
(800) 722-4794. 

Next training  

January 2019! 

http://wp.sbcounty.gov/dph/programs/cds/reports-forms/
http://www.sbcounty.gov/uploads/dph/publichealth/content/TBFormHospitals.pdf
http://wp.sbcounty.gov/dph/programs/cds/



